Zone Leaders are Amazing

Another week is gone…again.  But it’s only been a few days since my last letter, so there’s not much to report. On Saturday we went on a power-split with the Zone Leaders. This means that both of them came here and all four of us worked in Krefeld. But even with all four of us, we weren’t able to find anyone who’s interested in hearing about Christ and how we return to live with our Father in Heaven. I worked with Elder Münzer in the morning and Elder Heller in the afternoon. They are amazing. There’s a reason they’re ZL’s. They talk to EVERYONE! We couldn’t go 10 feet before they stopped someone else to ask if they wanted to here our Christmas message. They are both German, and they were awesome examples of what kind of missionary I want to become. Elder Münzer gave me some good pointers on contacting people on the street. I’ve been putting those pointers into action as much as possible. It was fun.

We went to church yesterday (because that’s what we do on Sundays) and it was amazing, as usual. I got to play again in Primary. It is so much more fun than going to Elders Quorum. All the kids are really cool. And all of the teachers are so excited to have a piano player that can play “anything” that they want to be played. Then we went to the Altenheim – I don’t even know the correct word in English…old-people’s home? I can’t remember. We went with the Young Women and sang Christmas carols for them. It was really cool. After that we went over to the Kreuzer’s for FHE and dinner. Their oldest son, Julian, is 22, and last week we started a “stop-smoking program” with him, and he’s doing great! He hasn’t smoked in over a week now and is really excited to not have this addiction anymore. He says he rarely has any urge to smoke anymore. His family is also excited, and his mom said that if he continues to do well and not smoke, she’ll buy him a suit for Christmas. We’re looking forward to seeing him in a suit in a few weeks.

That’s about it. I took President Ninow’s advice that he gave me during Zo-Co and talked to Elder Guin about not working hard. He’s improved,but we’re not even close to the point that I want us to be at. The mission has a goal for every companionship to get a baptism by the end of the year, and the odds of us achieving this goal are very slim. But miracles happen, and I refuse to give up. Even if we don’t reach the goal set for us, and I don’t want Elder Guin to go home and leave my new comp and me a dead area. But, we’ll see what happens. So, until next week. Hopefully something exciting happens that I can talk about.

Elder Mayle

Leave a Reply

