Simone’s Baptism is scheduled

Germany says hello,
Oh man, there are so many stories to tell and I don’t have the patience to do it. Everyday has something in it that I could talk about. We had to drop a couple of investigators this past week because they refuse to make progress. We’ve taught them all the lessons, and encouraged them to read in the Book of Mormon and pray about it. It’s so frustrating to see because they both have read, and they both know that the Book of Mormon is real and good and they’ve felt the power that’s inside, but they refuse to let themselves see that it’s a proof that our church is true and that there are real blessings in keeping the commandments outlined in the scriptures. But, we believe everyone has agency and the right to choose their path in life. We explain this to people a lot: we’re not trying to force anyone to do anything. We simply teach principles and promise blessings if they listen to what we say because we speak the words of Christ. Oh well. Ranting and complaining won’t help that at all. At one of those investigators houses’ she fed us lunch. We had awesome soup, small sausage patties, bread, and some pork. It was a fantastic lunch, and we felt bad saying that we can’t teach her very often if she refuses to try out what we’re saying. We went back  to the apartment and didn’t really have to make a big lunch. It’s getting colder here, but it’s not as much of a problem for us as much as for Simone. He’s from Somalia, so he’s never seen snow, or been in any whether like this. Sometimes we set up appointments at the church with him, and he doesn’t show up. We call him and ask where he is and he says, “Uh, yes, I would like to come, but it’s too much cold!” We tell him over and over that it’s going to get colder and it will be this way for the next five months. He can’t comprehend that. So yesterday one of the members brought over some old clothes that they had and we gave them to Simone. He was very happy and grateful. Hopefully we see him more often, now that he has no excuse to not be at the church. We always ask if he has questions, and every time he say, “No, I’m just waiting for my baptism.” He’s so awesome. It’s now scheduled for the first weekend in November. We’re not which day, Friday, Saturday or Sunday. We’re really looking forward to it, as we have been for some time.
We did an exchange with Bamberg on Friday. I worked with Elder Jorgenson, who’s our District leader. He’s a great guy, and I loved working with him for a day. I was really proud of myself because I was leading the way to all of the places where we worked and I didn’t get lost. Elder Anderson is making me ride my bike in front now so that I can know where everything is. He rides behind and doesn’t say anything. He just says, “Okay, let’s go work on Max Böhem Strasse today,” and I have to get us there. I’m not too bad. It feels good to know where everything is. Coburg feels like my home now and I’m going to be really sad when I have to leave. Hopefully I stay here awhile. Only time will tell. Part of the reason I love Coburg is…the apartment. It’s pretty sweet. It’s nice and small, perfect for two people. It feels very cozy. We’re also about a minute away from the middle of the city center, so we can walk outside we have about six bakeries, a few restaurants, a couple ice cream parlors, a post office and a bank all within a couple minutes of us. It’s a perfect location. The church is about a ten minute walk away. Netto, the convenience store where we get our groceries from is a couple minutes away. We get 177 Euro a month for expenses. We can usually get through on that, but sometimes we dip into personal funds for something. We went to Sonneberg a couple days ago to work and we saw Ritter (a type of chocolate bar) for 55 cents. That’s a bargain. So, I got 5 bars and Elder Anderson got 10. We both love chocolate, but he doesn’t love it as much as I do. Anyway, that’s all for this week. Stay tuned for more adventures from Europe.

Elder Mayle

One response to “Simone’s Baptism is scheduled

  1. Hi, Tyler!

    I don’t respond very often, and I don’t read ALL of them, but I’m really enjoying reading about your mission experience through this blog. And I want you to know that I love your sisters, too. 🙂 THanks for spreading the word of God and helping to build the kingdom in Germany!

Leave a Reply

